Distinguished Clinician Scientist Award

This prestigious award recognizes the highest ranked clinician in the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada's New Investigator competition.

2013 – 2014

  • Dr. Harindra C. Wijeysundera (Sunnybrook Research Institute)
    Evaluating therapeutic decision-making, outcomes and resource utilization in chronic stable angina: an interprovincial population-based study.

2012 – 2013

  • Dr. Gustavo Saposnik (St. Michael’s Hospital)
    Efficacy of virtual reality exercises using Wii gaming technology in stroke rehabilitation: a multicentre randomized clinical trial (EVEREST multicentre).

2011 - 2012

  • Dr. Michael Sean McMurtry (University of Alberta)
    Vascular metabolism and angiogenesis.

2010 - 2011

  • Dr. Gavin Y. Oudit (University of Alberta)
    Role of ACE2 in heart disease: using human recombinant ACE2 as potential therapy.

2009 - 2010

  • Dr. Shelagh Coutts (University of Calgary)
    CT and MRI in the triage of TIA and minor cerebrovascular events (CATCH).

Supported by the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, AstraZeneca, and the CIHR Insitute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health.