Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada's McDonald Scholarships

The McDonald Scholarship was established in honour of Mr. Ewing (Mac) McDonald, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada’s Executive Director from 1968 to 1987. Each year, the scholarship is awarded to the highest-rated applicant in the New Investigator competition. The award is valued at more than $300,000 over a period of five years.

2014 - 2015

  • Dr. Robert A. Rose (Dalhousie University)
    New Investigator
    Natriuretic peptides regulate sinoatrial node function and arrhythmogenesis in heart disease.

2013 - 2014

  • Dr. Katey Rayner (University of Ottawa Heart Institute)
    MicroRNA-33 regulation of PGC-1 alpha: role in atherosclerosis and obesity.

2012 - 2013

  • Dr. Gustavo Saposnik (St. Michael's Hospital)
    Efficacy of virtual reality exercises using Wii gaming technology in stroke rehabilitation: a multicentre randomized clinical trial (EVEREST multicentre).

2011 - 2012

  • Dr. Grant R.J. Gordon (University of Calgary)
    Control of cerebrovascular diameter by astrocytes during oxygen glucose deprivation.

2010 - 2011

  • Dr. Gavin Y. Oudit (University of Alberta)
    Role of ACE2 in heart disease: using human recombinant ACE2 as potential therapy.

2009 - 2010

  • Dr. David Hess (Robarts Research Institute)
    Cellular progenitors and molecular mediators of vascular regeneration
  • Dr. Shelagh Coutts (University of Calgary)
    CT and MRI in the triage of TIA and minor cerebrovascular events (CATCH). 

2008 - 2009

  • Dr. Christopher Ahern (University of British Columbia)
    Investigating anti-arrhythmic inhibition of voltage-gated sodium channels with unnatural amino acids and fluorescence spectroscopy.

2007 - 2008

  • Dr. John Seubert (University of Alberta)
    Role of eicosanoids in the heart: implications of arachidonic acid and its metabolites in regulating myocardial function and ischemic injury.

2006 - 2007

  • Dr. Angela Devlin (University of British Columbia)
    Nutrition, epigenetics & risk for cardiovascular disease.

2005 - 2006

  • Dr. Gregory Miller (University of British Columbia)
    Depression, inflammation, and risk for coronary heart disease.

2004 - 2005

  • Dr. Michael Czubryt (University of Manitoba)
    Roles of MEF2 and HDAC5 in cardiac failure and hypertrophy.

2003 - 2004

  • Dr. Fang Liu (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto)
    Protein-protein interactions in the regulation of AMPA receptor mediated neurotoxicity.

2002 - 2003

  • Dr. Darren E. Richard (Laval University)
    Vasoactive hormones and hypoxia in the control of vascular endothelial growth factor.

2001 - 2002

  • Dr. Donald Welsh (University of Calgary)
    Basis of pyrimidine-induced vasoconstriction.

2000 - 2001

  • Dr. Terence E. Hébert (Université de Montréal)
    Organization and specificity in G protein-coupled receptor signalling.

1999 - 2000

  • Dr. Eric Thorin (Université de Montréal)
    Influence des changements de couplages récepteurs / protéines G sur la fonction endothéliale vasculaire.

1998 - 1999

  • Dr. Stephen Ferguson (University of Western Ontario)
    Role of B-arrestins in B2-adrenergic receptor resensitivization.

1997 - 1998

  • Dr. Louise Pilote (McGill University)
    Health services and outcomes research to assess the treatment and prevention of coronary artery disease.

1996 - 1997

  • Dr. Yu Tian Wang (University of Toronto)
    GABa receptors in the solitary complex of the rat - regulation by protein tyrosine phosphorylation.

1995 - 1996

  • Dr. Marlys Koschinsky (Queen's University)
    Analysis of structure-function relationships in human apolipoprotein(a).

1994 - 1995

  • Dr. Rui Wang (Université de Montréal) 
    Altered calcium handling mechanisms in vascular smooth muscle cells from diabetic rats.

1993 - 1994

  • Dr. Zemin Yao (University of Alberta)
    Mechanism for intracellular degradation of hepatic apolipoprotein B.

1992 - 1993

  • Dr. Hoda Eid (University of Ottawa)
    Plasticity of adult cardiac myocyte phenotype in monoculture and in co-culture with epicardial mesothelial cells.

1991 - 1992   

  • Dr. David Fedida (Queen's University)
    Control of the alpha1-adrenoceptor-mediated positive inotropic effect in the heart and modulation of ion channels.

1990 - 1991

  • Dr. Robert Hegele (University of Toronto)
    Family-based approaches in the assessment of dyslipoproteinemias.

1989 - 1990

  • Dr. Mona Nemer (Université de Montréal)
    Expression of natrial natriuretic factor in normal and diseased hearts.